RSS

Budget Primal/Paleo

10 Sep

When you are trying to fill your plate with fresh fruits, vegetables, and meats you will find that you can spend a lot more than you are used to spending on food.  The way that I combat this is in a couple of ways.  #1 I hit Sam’s Club as often as I can and check out the meat case.  When I am lucky I will find bulk packages of meat that are set to “expire” within a day or two.  Last time I did this I spent about $100 on $160 worth of meat.  I froze all of it and use it as needed and I still have some left weeks later.  You don’t need to spend $100 but you can save a few bucks looking for this.  #2 is I frequent the meat case at Costco and Sam’s Club in general.  The cuts of meat are good and are usually cheaper than the off-sale prices of my local grocery store.  #3 is sales.  This week my local grocery store (Stater Bros.) has London Broil and Pork Shoulder Roast on sale.  I will be getting both of these and can make 4 meals out of them (not including sides).  The same holds true for fruits and vegetables, either on sale or at the membership stores.  I easily cover the cost of membership to both stores in savings on food and gas.  Highly recommended.

I am working up a recipe for smoked pork shoulder.  My first experiment in smoked meat didn’t turn out as desired.  I had never cooked with indirect heat and knew nothing about it until I decided I wanted to cook a tri tip.  In my research I learned that the meat will dry out far before it finishes if you cook it over direct flame of the bbq.  I also learned that you can do a lot of flavoring of the meat through smoking it.  I am not in a position to purchase a smoker for the occasional smoking of meats so I learned there was a way to do it with a gas grill.  Soak wood chips, make a holder out of foil to put them in, put over direct flame on one side of your grill, put meat on opposite side of grill without flame.  Seemed easy enough.  Got started smoking the meat, went out to check on it and the fire had burned through the foil and all fell through and was on fire in the bottom of the bbq.  Not the plan.  The tri tip turned out decent but didn’t have any of the smoke flavor in it that I was searching for.  Part of eating clean is minimizing the type of shortcuts like bbq sauce to flavor things.  The smoke adds a nice flavor to the meat.

Going to try again with the pork shoulder this week.  I’ll let you know how it turns out.  I’ve been up since 2:30 with allergies, so tonight is going to be something simple like chicken breasts.

 

It also helps to supplement the clean food with clean, low calorie nutrition for the rest of the day.  That’s where herbalife comes in.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 10, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Budget Primal/Paleo

Leave a Reply

 
