RSS

Running

03 Sep

Oh, the runners high. You read about it, if you’ve ever watched runners on TV or in person you’ve likely seen it. I’ve never really felt it. As a primer; I had never run more than a lap at any point in my life until I was in my late twenties.

After I lost so much weight I thought that could finally do it. I found a program called couch to 5k. Couch to 5k is an interval program that takes you from doing nothing to running a 5k in 9 weeks.  The first run is 60 seconds followed by 90 seconds of walking. You repeat this process over 20 minutes of agony.  My first run I was convinced I was going to die, but I didn’t.

I can run 5 miles now without dying.  I never would have gotten this far without that first run. But I still don’t ever feel a runners high. No matter how many miles I’ve logged, I’ve never gotten to a point where I felt anything I would call a high.  It usually takes me about 2 miles of arguing with myself about quitting before I actually feel like I can keep going.

As a disclaimer, primal lifestyle doesn’t promote long paced runs. It is the opinion of the primal blueprint author that once a week or so you would go all out on a 10 minute or so run. I can subscribe to this theory, but I am running for a different reason than just fitness.

image

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 3, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
